How not to interview

My final post in my Job Search series.  It’s short and simple.

Employers:  Don’t “Bait and Switch” on job interviews.

Multiple times during this job hunt, I’ve had companies contact me, sounding very excited to have me, to talk to me about specific position(s) that they’d be interested in me taking.

Then, at some point in time, usually after both sides had spent a long time (and in some cases having flown me out, or having long in person interviews), the rug was pulled out from under me.  Suddenly the position was something different.  Maybe it was at a different level of responsibility.  Maybe it’s suddenly not remote work.  Maybe it’s a completely different position/technology.

Regardless, it’s something that obviously wasn’t a match for me or that they should have known I wouldn’t be interested in.

When you do this, no one is going to accept the job offer.  If you are upfront with the potential employee, then you both walk in eyes open and not only do you not waste their time but you don’t waste yours either.

One Response to How not to interview

  1. afilina says:

    Time wasting like you described is often seen in contract work as well. That is why I help the customer focus the conversation by talking only about the position and my rate, with a 5-minute overview of the project.

    I let them think about it, talk to their associates and call me back. I do not schedule in-person meetings right away. Otherwise, I could be walking into a 3-hour meeting only to be told later that the price is not right.

Leave a Reply

