Amazon RULES! (Walmart.com is ok … UPS gets a -1)

So I had been swamped lately, and ordered a few things last-minute-ish for my lady-wife for Mother’s Day.   I ordered most things from Amazon, and one thing from Walmart.com just because they had it in stock, and Amazon didn’t.  (Did I mention the last minute thing?).

I paid for 2nd day shipping, and they were guaranteed by Thursday, probably Wednesday.

It’s Thursday, I didn’t get them, I checked both tracking numbers, UPS claimed  that they delivered both yesterday, at 12:12pm, ‘left at the front door’.   Well, I was home all day, and no UPS guy came.

I went outside and checked thouroughly, no packages, not hidden under a bush, not in a weird location, nope.

I called UPS, and after fighting through their phone system, and finally getting an operator, I was told I had to call the shippers each directly.

So first I try Amazon.   I go to their website prepared for a long search for a phone number.  Instead, I quickly find an interesting button called ‘Call Me’.  I click it, enter my phone number, choose ‘Right now’ from the “When” dropdown.   And LITERALLY less than a heartbeat after clicking submit, my phone rings.   And It’s Amazon calling me.

I’m immediately connected to a representative, who upon hearing my plight,  apologized, and instantly entered a new shipment of the exact same goods, upped it to overnight shipping, and I might have it tomorrow, worst case Monday.

I was impressed to say the least.

So then I call Walmart.com … I did find a phone number, I called, I was only on hold for a couple minutes.   Not bad.   The guy was very friendly, but said that he had to escalate it up to the ‘missing shipment’ department, and that in 2-3 business days I would hear back from them with the decision as to whether UPS found the shipment, or whether they would send me a new shipment.

So, it’s still getting taken care of, but not nearly with the gusto that Amazon is.

One Response to Amazon RULES! (Walmart.com is ok … UPS gets a -1)

  1. […] say it again) Ok, Amazon is in my opinion just one of the services out there right now. An earlier post of mine already said this, but this Christmas I’ve had more good […]

Leave a Reply

